A Return to the Kitchen

Well, that’s a bit of a misnomer. I have been cooking, but January and February blew by filled with a lot of excellent and crazy stuff and I just never got around to cooking something and blogging it as well. But I’m back, and that’s what counts. Right? Right.

Some things of note: I made this multiple times and I think it’s my new favorite meal (throwing a fried egg and garlicy sauteed chard/spinach makes it even better). Smitten Kitchen’s most recent soup creation helped nurse my flu-ridden boyfriend back to health, and was just plain deliciousness. So many things I made, so many pictures I did not take. Such has been the last couple of months! But I’ve eaten a lot of good food, both at home and out.

A little while back I made a promise to myself that at least one night I was going to make something delicious and share it. My roommates and I like to have family dinner on Sundays when we can, with us, friends or boyfriends who may be able to come, and plenty of delicious home-cooked food. Perfect for getting my cook on.

Our balanced meal!

Meyer lemons are out in full force, and one of my favorite things to do with them is make skillet roasted chicken breasts. This cauliflower puree (made with much less water to render a puree instead of a soup) is my new favorite (I don’t think doubling the garlic and adding pepper flakes hurts), and I’d spotted this melted leek coulis a while back and decided it was time to make it. My coulis ended up a bit thicker than I anticipated, and I would recommend using a blender as she says instead of a food processor, I think that affected how uniform in green color mine turned out. Regardless, it was all tasty. So make some food, would ya?

Roast Chicken with Meyer Lemons & Thyme

What you’ll need:

  • Bone-in, skin-on chicken pieces (whatever will fit in your skillet, I used breasts, thighs, and drumsticks)
  • 3-4 meyer lemons, sliced thin
  • 1 white onion, sliced thin
  • Handful of thyme sprigs
  • Olive oil
  • Salt & pepper

Get cooking:

  • Preheat oven to 375
  • Heat your skillet over medium-high. Generously salt and pepper your chicken pieces and add them skin side down to your pan. Brown on all sides, roughly 7  minutes a side.

IMG_6508

  • Tuck the onion slices in around your chicken and top the chicken with your lemon slices. Top with your thyme sprigs.

IMG_6517

  • [Note: I covered my skillet with foil at this point--you can do this, but your onions and lemons won't caramelize as much as I like. So don't cover the chicken, and you'll get even better results than what I've documented here! Or remove the foil about halfway through]
  • Move to the oven and roast for roughly 20 minutes until the juices run clear.
All roasted up! As you can see, the onions are tender but not caramelized. Leave the foil off while cooking and this will be even prettier.

All roasted up! As you can see, the onions are tender but not caramelized. Leave the foil off while cooking and this will be even prettier.

You can totally make this chicken with regular lemons, I just like the mild sweetness of the meyer lemons that is brought out further by the roasting. This is a great dinner, between the cauliflower, the leek coulis, and the chicken.  If anything, just make the cauliflower puree, it’s deeeelicious and easy!

:) Emily

2 thoughts on “A Return to the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

