CSA Experiment #3: Farro with Squash & Pesto

Oh the squash, those sneaky little buggers. Two hid out in the bottom of the CSA box, narrowly escaping becoming part of that amazing gratin I finished for lunch today. When I discovered them, I was a bit stumped. As I mentioned previously, I’m not the biggest fan of squash always. And when I found myself staring down not only an unassuming and kind of cute green summer squash, but also a kind-of-ugly bumpy yellow squash (I literally googled that, it’s a thing) I wondered what I was going to do with them.

First, I rendered them nearly unrecognizeable, after kicking myself for not having more cannelini beans to make another gratin (curses!).

Yeah, I grated them. What can I say? I panicked!

Then I experimented. And it turned out pretty darn tasty. I don’t think I could go wrong with farro—it’s an amazing grain if you haven’t tried it. Farro is a great source of fiber and has a wonderful nutty flavor. I’ve used it in place of arborio rice in a “farroto”, in salads, etc. Farro is filling and delicious…and healthy, what’s not to love?

Ze finished experiment. For the millionth time, forgive my awful photography skillz.

What You’ll Need:

  • 1 cup farro
  • Two summer squash, grated
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 3-4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tsp lemon zest
  • 1/4 c pesto
  • Olive oil
  • White wine
  • Parmesan, for serving
  • Salt & Pepper

What to do with ^that:

  1. Toss the grated squash in a bowl with a generous pinch of salt and let it sit for about 10 minutes. Using a mesh strainer, push out as much liquid as you can.
  2. Bring a medium pot of water to a boil. Salt the living daylight out of it (trust me). Add farro and cook until tender, at least 20 minutes but possibly more. Drain and set aside.
  3. While the farro is cooking, saute the onions and garlic in a tablespoon of olive oil for about 5-7 minutes. Add drained squash and continue to cook over medium heat until the squash is softened and browning a bit. I also added some garlic and onion powder here, as well as pepper. Just ’cause.
  4. Once squash has browned a little bit, hit it with some white wine. I probably used about 1/2 c. Reduce heat and simmer until most of the wine has cooked off.
  5. Mix squash together with farro, pesto, and lemon zest. Season with additional salt and pepper as needed, and add parmesan as desired.
  6. Eat up!

This was very very good, and actually a very easy way to put a different and healthy meal on the table for Monday. Do it!

This concludes my CSA box chronicles…and you might be wondering: What happened with the rest of the stuff? The ruby crescent potatoes got roasted up with some of the onions on two separate occasions (once halved for dinner and once diced for breakfast). Some of the onions somehow ended up in the middle of some french onion soup grilled cheese sandwiches (I’ll explain later). The gem lettuces and tomatoes were mostly eaten as salads, but some of the tomatoes got roasted up and mixed into a breakfast scramble with pesto and pepper jack cheese (yum). The rest ended up in my belly one casual way or another…as they should.

—Emily

3 thoughts on “CSA Experiment #3: Farro with Squash & Pesto

  1. Pingback: Learning to Love Spaghetti Squash « Everything Emily Eats

Leave a Reply

