Lemony Polenta Cookies with Cardamom

Sunday morning I woke up and for some reason had an itch to bake. I’m really not one to make sweets in general, as I definitely have a salt tooth. My friend Jamie is an avid baker, and she is definitely one to bake at any time (in fact, when I was visiting her in NY of course she suggested we make banana bread. Duh. Why didn’t I think of that?). Anyway. This Sunday I wanted to bake, mainly for my football team’s first game of the season (yay for playing team mom!).

I’d been seeing some sweet polenta recipes and since I love it so much I thought “how fun would polenta cookies be??”. So I did some research and found out the basics of what would go into this crunchy delights. I decided to go with lemon because it is summer after all and I didn’t want them to be super rich. I added cardamom because I love cardamom. There’s a reason why Turkish coffee is such a treat–cardamom adds such a nice and warm sweetness!

The stars of the show. How pretty, right?

But then I discovered I had no butter. Womp womp. So I went to the store and I carried the butter back in my pockets to bring it to room temp (don’t judge). But that’s a separate issue.

These were easy and delicious, and I definitely would make them again! They are bright from the lemon, sweet and crunchy from the polenta, with just a hint of that cardamom that makes you stop and say “hmm I wonder what that is?”. They were a hit on the football field (after the game of course)!

Ingredients

  • 1/2 c uncooked polenta
  • 1 1/2 c all purpose flour (I used whole wheat, that’s what we had on hand)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 c sugar
  • 1 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, room temp
  • 1 egg (preferably room temp)
  • 2 tsp ground cardamom, more as desired
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 (heaping) tbsp lemon zest (roughly 1 lemon’s worth)
  • Juice of 1/2 lemon (about 1 tbsp)

What to do:

  • Preheat your oven to 350°F and line one or two baking sheets with parchment paper (I baked one sheet at a time)
  • Whisk together the dry ingredients (polenta, flour, salt, and cardamom) in a medium bowl.

  • In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar either with an electric mixer or a hand mixer. Beat the egg with the vanilla and beat into the butter/sugar.
  • Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients, only mixing until just incorporated.
  • Mix in the lemon juice and zest.

Ready to be mixed in!

  • Drop generous teaspoon-fuls of the dough onto your baking sheet(s) and dust with additional cardamom if desired

Like a little ball of sunshine…

  • Bake for 10-15 minutes, until golden brown on the bottom. After letting them cool for a minute or so on the baking sheet, transfer to a cooling rack.
  • Lather, rinse, repeat…er, continue to bake your cookies per the above instructions, making sure your baking sheet is cool before you put the dough on it!

Enjoy!

I actually would have added more cardamom (hence the dusting on the top). This made a TON of cookies, and I think you could even just make them a little bigger. They don’t spread out too much, so you don’t have to really worry about them getting stuck together. But all in all a bright and sweet treat.

Enjoy!

-Emily

2 thoughts on “Lemony Polenta Cookies with Cardamom

  1. Pingback: Greek Yogurt Cake with Cardamom Whipped Cream | Everything Emily Eats

  2. Pingback: Michigan “Heat Wave” {chinese 5-spice & orange rolls} | Everything Emily Eats

Leave a Reply

