Marietta’s Cheesecake

It’s been a while! I’m sorry for the major gap. Not quite sure how to explain it other than life gets in the way. Ain’t it so? But I’m back. With tasty stuff.

I don’t have much of a sweet tooth, but boy do I love cheesecake. I used to ask my mom to make cheesecake for my birthday almost every year. Fortunately, I had an excuse to make it the weekend before last for my roommate’s birthday, since she’s also a cheesecake nut. Between us and our other roommate, we demolished this cheesecake in just about 24 hours. We are not ashamed. Why would we be?

Cheesecake success!

Cheesecake success!

My mom’s cheesecake recipe is really from her best friend Marietta. Marietta was a wonderful lady. She filled a room with happy vibes and apparently threw wild parties with my mom back in the day. Marietta passed away about 6 years ago, but even in the end she and my mom were cracking up over stories of people climbing in through windows to get to their parties, and all the other shenanigans they got up to when they were my age.

Marietta was an awesome lady and made an awesome cheesecake, which I am thrilled to share with you today. It is super easy and super tasty. You’ve gotta make this.

The best part is not using a spring-form pan. Not everyone has one! I certainly don’t. My mom always used a tart pan. I used a glass pie dish this time and it worked beautifully.

Marietta’s Cheesecake

Ingredients:

Crust:

  • 18 graham cracker squares (1 package), crushed
  • 1 stick butter, melted

Filling:

  • 2 -8oz pkgs cream cheese at room temp
  • 3/4 c sugar
  • 1.5 tbsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs, lightly beaten

Topping:

  • 1/4 c sugar
  • 1 pint sour cream
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract

Get in there and do it:

  • Preheat oven to 350°F
  • Make sure your cream cheese is room temperature: if your cream cheese is not quite room temperature, stick your cream cheese into ziploc bags and pop them in a bowl of warm/hot water for about 5-10 minutes. Make sure the seams are above the water so water doesn’t seep in.

  • Get that crust together by smashing the living daylights out of those graham crackers. I like to pre-smash them in the packaging and then take the easy route of blitzing them in my food processor. My mom used to have me dump them in a gallon ziploc and smash them with a rolling pin. Choose your course of action based on your stress level.
pre-smashed in the package

pre-smashed in the package

  • Now it’s time to make the crust. Pop those crumbs in a bowl and pour your awesome melted butter in there as so:
try not to eat this just yet

try not to eat this just yet

  • Now mix it all the butter and crumbs together until it is well combined. Don’t eat it. It will smell amazing but keep your paws outta there! Now press it into your tart pan/pie dish. Make sure you’ve got that golden goodness everywhere.

IMG_7038

  • Stir all your topping ingredients together in a small bowl. Taste and add more vanilla/sugar if desired, but otherwise enjoy that darn delicious and tangy stuff.
  • Beat your filling ingredients together in a medium/large bowl either with a hand mixer or with a stand mixer. Your cream cheese being room temperature is key, since that will help ensure that you can combine all the ingredients evenly and not have cream cheese chunks. Beat until your mixture is smooth and pour into your crust.
Kinda funky lighting, but you get the idea!

Kinda funky lighting, but you get the idea!

  • Pop your crust and filling in the oven and bake for about 17-20 minutes, or until mostly not jiggly (very technical term). Pull it out of the oven and allow to cool for about 5-10 minutes, and meanwhile up the oven to 450°F. Spread topping evenly across the top and put it back in the oven for about 10 minutes.
  • Allow to cool completely and then serve!
the finished product, complete with fancy birthday decorations :)

the finished product, complete with fancy birthday decorations 🙂

Cheesecake success!

This is seriously so easy and comes together pretty quickly for a creamy/sweet/tangy/buttery treat. It’s amazing as is, but is great with fresh fruit too! You’ll keep going back to the fridge for just another sliver…

Enjoy 🙂

Emily

4 thoughts on “Marietta’s Cheesecake

  1. I am sure that somewhere Marietta is thrilled that her yummy cheesecake made your blog. She was indeed a lotta fun and a great cook!

  2. How yummy! This looks awesome. And I love your thoughts on the spring pan–those always make me a bit nervous anyway, wondering will it crack the cake when I open it? I will have to try this for sure. I love cheesecake!

  3. Pre-smashing in package always works for me and I’ve done both ziploc and cuisinart methods. Graham’s have enough sugar so it’s good to see you’re not adding more. Gotta love cheesecake – so easy to make and gobble up. Thanks!

  4. Pingback: Bringing it Back {hot artichoke dip} | Everything Emily Eats

Leave a Reply

