The Year of the Taco {delicata tacos with pepitas and mustard-sriracha aioli}

Happy new year! A bit belatedly…I’ve been under the rock that is grad school applications. But let’s get down to business—new years are for new cleanses, right? Screw juice, can we agree to a taco cleanse? I think the evidence is clear:

cold hard facts, folks

Ok actually every year should be the year of the taco. We can ignore the fact that my final dinner of 2013 was an In-n-Out burger and my first dinner of 2014 was a Roam burger. Don’t be fooled! I still think it should be the year of the taco. You have to mix it up with burgers sometimes, though.

I made this the other week for myself and my besty. He’s going meat-free in 2014 and I’d like to say I’m being a good friend but although I do support it, I verbally have been giving him grief right and left. “Who am I supposed to get burgers with?!” mostly. I mean come on, we just had the half-bacon glories at Rickybobby a few weeks ago, you can’t just cut our burger sessions out cold-turkey, right?

Look at how I have already digressed. These tacos are bomb.com. I made them first back in November but was too hungry to take pictures. Then Trader Joe’s stopped carrying delicata squash. Who does that? Anyway, they make for a tasty and quick dinner.

Delicata is my new fave. It slices like a dream, the skin is edible, it cooks quickly, it’s very easily de-seeded…what more could you ask for? Considering that my sister wrestled a butternut for a solid hour on Christmas Eve, I think we should all just agree to buy the pre-peeled and cut butternut and stick to delicata for our other winter squash needs. For your toppings, this mustard-sriracha aioli adds a nice spice and tang to the taco. Peppery arugula is perfect here, too, though you can totally substitute any greens here, whatever you have on hand or just prefer. From there, avocado, salsa, extra sriracha, cotija/queso fresco are all great. DO IT ALREADY, WOULDYA?!

Happy Year of the Taco!

Delicata Squash Tacos

with Pepitas & Mustard-Sriracha Aioli

What you’ll need:

  • Tacolicious:

    • 2 Delicata squashes, halved lengthwise and cut into 1/2″ slices (feel free to substitute for other winter squash, peeled and diced small)
    • 1/4-to-1/2 cup pepitas
    • 1/2 red onion, sliced thin
    • 1/2 tsp ground coriander
    • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
    • 1/2 tsp chili powder
    • 1/2 tsp ancho chili powder (if you don’t have any, just amp up your chili powder)
    • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
    • 1/2 tsp caught-ya-looking, no more 1/2 tsps.
    • Olive oil
    • Salt & pepper

     

  • For serving:

    • Mustard-Sriracha Aioli (I used only 1 garlic clove because otherwise I found it pretty overpowering)
    • Corn tortillas
    • Lime
    • Cilantro
    • Plain greek yogurt or sour cream
    • Salsa
    • Guac/avocado
    • Queso fresco OR cotija OR feta OR none if you’re weird
    • Sriracha or oooother hot sauce

Doin’ it and doin’ it and doin’ it well:

  • Preheat oven to 350°F.
  • Toss your squash with your onions, spices, and a couple of glugs of olive oil. Get that good and mixed around.
lookee here

all mixed up with some place to go

  • About 10 minutes into squash cooking time in, throw the pepitas on the sheet and gently toss with the squash. You don’t want the pepitas to burn, you just want them toasty.
it's a pepita party!

it’s a pepita party!

  • Let those suckers go another 10-15 minutes. Poke a squash with a fork. Is it tender? Rad. Pull them out of the oven and prepare for Phase Three (three? I don’t know what number it would be)…

PHASE TACO:

THIS THO.

THIS THO.

TACO PLATE

TACO PLATE

I’m telling you, these things are delicious. I love burgers but man, these veggie tacos are the bee’s knees. Spicy, sweet, tangy, crunchy, NOM-WORTHY. I also ate the leftovers not only as tacos, but I also made a “taco bowl” and just added a gang of arugula to it…I guess it was more of a salad situation. WHATEVER, okay??? It tasted real good. Use the aioli on everything ever, including (but not limited to): sandwiches, sweet potato fries, roasted veggies, etc.

¡Buen Provecho!

Emily 🙂

3 thoughts on “The Year of the Taco {delicata tacos with pepitas and mustard-sriracha aioli}

  1. Pingback: The Best Way Out is Always Through {black bean burgers with cilantro-pepita pesto} | Everything Emily Eats

  2. Pingback: Killing Time I Don’t Have {Maple & Sea Salt Sunbutter} | Everything Emily Eats

Leave a Reply

