A Week of Lasts {beet hummus}

Right now I am in a pretty nutty transition period. The past nine months have been a whirlwind of moving towards some major life changes—I’m starting grad school this fall, and the road to get there has been long (and at times, trying). So after prepping for/taking the GRE, writing and re-writing entrance applications (aka hashing/re-hashing the big questions like “who are you?” “what are you doing?” and “why?”), and then sifting through admissions and financial aid offers…I’m so glad to be done with the process, and preparing for my move to Ann Arbor come August. It is both very exciting and absolutely overwhelming!

Given my finally-made plan, recent weeks have filled with many lasts: my last day at work (after 4 years), my last days in my amazing apartment with even more amazing roommates (after 3 years and 8 months), last flag football game, last meals with friends…all these lasts before a big first: my first real adventure in years, 6 weeks in Ecuador and Peru. Oh, and then my first year of grad school 🙂

My last day party at work…complete with a bomb homemade taco piñata! I have the best coworkers…who know my deep love for tacos 🙂

Excitement aside, this has been a hectic and heart-heavy period. It is really weird closing doors, even if the doors that are opening are very thrilling and leading to many wonderful weeks of firsts. I’m ready (enough) 🙂

I made this beet hummus for a going away potluck we had at our apartment a couple weeks ago. It comes from David Lebovitz’s latest, My Paris Kitchen. My friend Katie made it once and was generous enough to share it with me at work…the fuchsia spread caught my attention immediately, and was one of those things that literally shuts you up it is so good. Everyone had the same reaction when tasting it—starting with “yeah, okay, it will be tasty” to then tasting it, eyes going wide, incredulous that it could be that killer. This is to say, you need to make it 🙂

 

Magical Beet Hummus

From David Lebovitz, My Paris Kitchen

The necessities:

  • 12 oz cooked beets, peeled and diced
    • Tip: ROAST YOUR OWN! My produce market had lousy beets when I needed them, so I had to settle for pre-steamed from Trader Joe’s and while they worked, the color of mine wasn’t the remarkable fuschia you can get from freshly roasted beets. The flavor is also much better with the fresher, roasted beets you can make.
  • 2/3 c garbanzo beans, peeled (worth the effort!)
    • I think you could even up this amount to about 3/4 c to add a little more structure, but it is good ad is, too
  • 2 large cloves garlic, minced
  • 6 tbsp tahini
  • 2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/4 c fresh lemon juice
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne or smoked chili powder (more to taste, I probably used closer to 1/2 tsp)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp pomegranate molasses

 

Get cooking:

  • Peel the garbanzos. Though it’s a bit of a pain, it is actually easy to do and helps the hummus stay extra silky (thanks for the tip, Ottolenghi!). After draining and rinsing the beans, I give them a gentle squeeze and the outer skin pops right off.
easy peasy, garbanzo bean squeezy

easy peasy, garbanzo bean squeezy

  • Throw everything in your food processor. Let ‘er rip!
color will vary depending on your beets...mine was a reddish pink, but Katie's was legit fuchsia

color will vary depending on your beets…mine was a reddish pink, but Katie’s was legit fuchsia

  • Stop and smell the roses (read: taste, adjust lemon/salt as needed)…then eat it.
NOM

NOM

This is delicious and bright and just a little sweet from the pomegranate molasses (which is the kicker, here). Never seen pomegranate molasses? You can usually get it in Middle Eastern markets, or sometimes in the “ethnic” aisle of even regular grocery stores. My produce market, whose predominant clientele is Chinese and Russian, actually carried it! It’s a delicious syrup that’s used in dishes both savory and sweet throughout Middle Eastern cooking. Get it, you won’t regret it.

Eat this hummus with veggies, chips, spread on sammies…by the spoonful, etc. It’s okay, no one’s judging (or they won’t be after they taste it). Eat your feelings with this stuff…it’s healthy, right?

Enjoy! 🙂

Emily

 

7 thoughts on “A Week of Lasts {beet hummus}

  1. I clicked on this post simply because of the photo of you with that incredible taco piñata. That is one bad ass piñata and I hope you never break it. Good luck with all that is coming and enjoy your trips!

    • Thanks Kate! I will now be trying to figure out how to ship the piñata to Michigan 😛

      Also, I’m going to have to try your Mexican Red Fries! They sound BOMB.

  2. Pingback: De idas y vueltas {llapingachos, aka “yum-pingachos”} | Everything Emily Eats

  3. You’re way too young to wax philosophic about lasts and firsts! It’s one big circle, m’dear 😉 Waiting deliciously for your next missive where ever and when ever.

  4. Pingback: Killing Time I Don’t Have, II {Maple-Roasted Almond Butter} | Everything Emily Eats

Leave a Reply

