Killing Time I Don’t Have, II {maple-roasted almond butter}

I’m back from my trip, and have been busy since I landed because, as I announced a little while back, I’m moving to Michigan in less than two weeks! And life doesn’t just take care of business for you, so I’m working on the “how the heck to you move across the country?” question.

After my Ecuadorian adventures, and after my Peruvian adventure, I need to be back in the kitchen. While I love eating out, I don’t do it 24/7 normally, so I was craving some kitchen time.

Yeah, you could say Machu Picchu was pretty cool.

Yeah, you could say Machu Picchu was pretty cool.

And just two days after I landed, staring at a mile-long to do list and not knowing where to begin, I found myself doing exactly what I’d done when I made sunbutter a while back–I threw together a batch of almond butter, and later on a batch of kale-walnut pesto and then some jalapeño-cheddar crackers (because procrastination).

Back when I shared that sunbutter, several people asked, “but what about almond butter?” Today I’m sharing my current favorite iteration, in which I roast the almonds with maple syrup and salt to deepen the flavor. It’s super simple and super delicious…and a great way to kill a little time 😉

Maple-Roasted Almond Butter

Makes 1 heaping cup

Supplies:

  • ~2 c raw almonds
  • 3-4 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 generous pinch kosher salt (or sea salt, I just didn’t have any!)
  • Optional: neutral oil, like veggie oil

Getting it done:

  • Preheat your oven to 350°F
  • Toss your ingredients together in a big bowl (you’ll notice the salt dissolve into the syrup).
shiny things!

shiny things!

  • Spread on parchment paper on a baking sheet in an even layer so they can roast evenly.
  • Roast your almonds for about 20 minutes, checking halfway and then every few minutes to make sure they’re not burning. Give them a stir when you check on them.
looking nice and roasty

looking nice and roasty

My personal "are they roasted?" testing strategy: take an almond off the pan, set it to the side to cool briefly, then bite in. If it's looking nice and golden on the inside, a nice light brown, you're good to go!

My personal “are they roasted?” testing strategy: take an almond off the pan, set it to the side to cool briefly, then bite in. If it’s looking nice and golden on the inside, a nice light brown, you’re good to go!

  • After removing them from the oven, let them to cool for 15-20 minutes before transferring to your food processor (crumble the parchment paper to get all the crystallized maple sugar in there too) and let ‘er rip! I let mine go for a while before deciding to add about 1 tsp oil to get things really moving. It should be good to go in 5-7 minutes, but go until you’ve reached your desired smoothness (adding additional oil if you want it to be a little more runny). You can also add in more maple/salt as desired.

IMG_9636

  • EAT IT.
smooooth operator

smooooth operator

I’m going to go eat this by the spoonful…and then maybe cross some tasks off my list. Time to get things done!

Enjoy! 🙂

Emily

2 thoughts on “Killing Time I Don’t Have, II {maple-roasted almond butter}

  1. Pingback: Preparation {overnight steel-cut oats & quinoa} | Everything Emily Eats

Leave a Reply

